Basic Overview of TOGAF

Posted: 18-Dec-12 5:38PM by Heather Wilcox

Related Categories: Maturity Models, TOGAF Overview

This article gives a brief overview of TOGAF that can be referred to from other papers rather than repeating the TOGAF overview per article .

TOGAF®, an Open Group standard is a member driven global technology and vendor neutral consortium, with over 350 member organisations, with headquarters in 31 countries. The organisation formed in 1996 is The Open Group. TOGAF® services include management, strategy, standards, certification, test development, innovation and research.

By using an overarching framework such as TOGAF®, a top down, holistic approach is applied, with guidance on development overseen by an architectural perspective. High level principles ensure the various parts of the enterprise employ a consistent approach to business transformation, in line with the long term IT roadmap that supports the business. High level principles are clearly stated, such as using open standards for data, ensuring the data is accessible from multiple applications. Another high level principle may be that data should only be entered once. Principles help guide the project development provides solutions, and each development has to satisfy the overarching principles based on long term business and IT goals.

TOGAF Framework

The TOGAF® framework is adaptable, and implementation of the framework can be achieved by using an analysis method which bests suits your organisational culture and way of working. The end result is that you have a clearer idea on the ‘who, why, what, where, how and when’ questions required to inform you which areas are performing well and which areas require attention. Analysis of the business, data, applications and technology domains with reference to the supporting business strategy, allows business to utilise technology to optimise business capabilities.

The TOGAF framework consists of seven key areas.  Introduction, where the title explains the content, The Architecture Development Method (ADM), which is often includes a series of lettered phases, each phase consists of a clear structure - objectives, input and outputs, and a series of described steps.  These narratives help a user understand the types of activities required whilst developing and managing the architecture lifecycle. The Content Framework includes artifacts, deliverables and building blocks that can be utilised whilst developing and managing the architecture lifecycle.   The Enterprise Continuum can be used to help classify the assets for future reuse, as the deliverables and artifacts are utilised and produced.  The two TOGAF Reference Models - The Technical Reference Model and the IIIRM are also included in the classification scheme. Finally The Architecture Capability includes Governance and resource related aspects such as roles, responsibilities, skills, maturity levels.

As mentioned in the previous paragraph, TOGAF includes the Architecture Development Method which describes a method for developing and managing enterprise architecture lifecycle, and forms the core of TOGAF. It integrates elements of TOGAF described in this document as well as other available architectural assets, to meet the business and IT needs of an organization.  TOGAF also includes Guidelines and Techniques which can be used during the appropriate ADM phases.  Techniques such as Risk management, stakeholder management, Business scenarios help users to produce the relevant artefacts and deliverables.


TOGAF® incorporates the prioritisation and implementation of the transformation projects. This ensures that the key projects that are critical to the business are given the focus they deserve. TOGAF supports the full life cycle of the information architecture from alignment with business strategy through implementation management, then monitoring and control through to benefit realisation.

The TOGAF® framework enforces end to end processes rather than processes developed in silos. The results gained from this approach astound the business. Less resource is required to input and maintain data. The ‘The ‘right information, at the right time, in the right format’’ slogan suddenly has more meaning and makes more business sense.

TOGAF also includes Architectural Governance as part of the Enterprise Architecture Framework to encourage conformance to principles, standards, and maintain quality of products, services, assets  and resources.


Nice introduction to TOGAF, it outlines the essentials without getting too bogged down in the details.

Posted by: nicholas emery | 19-Dec-12 10:29AM

This comment is awaiting moderation.

Posted by: Lupita | 14-Jul-15 8:19AM

This comment is awaiting moderation.

Posted by: Jeslyn | 13-Jul-16 5:40PM

This comment is awaiting moderation.

Posted by: Harry | 19-Nov-16 3:48AM

Leave A Comment

Please note that comments for this blog entry are fully moderated.


Business Enterprise Architecture Consulting Services UK

Open Group Certification logo is a trademark and TOGAF is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and other countries. TOGAF® 9 Practitioner Certification Training Level 1 and 2 is an Accredited TOGAF 9 Training Course and complies with the accreditation requirements for The Open Group TOGAF Certification for People program